Privacy Policy

Charitable Choice is committed to ensuring that the personal information provided by all of our donors, gift card recipients and fundraisers is treated with respect and kept strictly confidential.

1. Consent

By checking on the relevant tick-boxes and clicking on “CONFIRM” during the donation or account set up process, you agree that:

  • we may collect your personal information and you consent to the use, disclosure and transfer of your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy and as permitted or required by law; and
  • if you are a child under the age of 18, you have obtained parental consent for your use of the Charitable Choice website and our collection, use, disclosure and transfer of your personal information in accordance with this Privacy Policy.

Subject to legal and contractual requirements, you may refuse or withdraw your consent to certain of the identified purposes at any time by contacting us at the address provided below. If you refuse or withdraw your consent, you acknowledge that you may not be able to use all functions of the Charitable Choice website and we may not be able to provide you with certain services or information which may be of value to you.

2. Personal Information

Collection of Your Personal Information

When you access our website, we may collect from you your personal information such as your name, password, age, date of birth, gender, email address, correspondence address, telephone number and credit card and debit card numbers (with expiration dates).

Use of Your Personal Information

We may use the personal information collected from you for a number of purposes, including without limitation the following:

  • processing and administering donations made by you;
  • with your consent, communicating with you to confirm your gift card purchase and/or redemption and in relation to any problems that may arise in connection with processing your transaction;
  • publishing information as posted by you or as necessary to run and operate personal fundraising webpages created by you and hosted on our website;
  • formulating transaction reports to persons operating personal fundraising webpages hosted on the Charitable Choice website to whom you have made donation(s);
  • with your consent, communicating with you about new developments in our charity services and organization, sending you promotional materials and newsletters and inviting you to events organized by us and our charity partners; and
  • providing your personal information to our charity partners to allow them to communicate with you in relation to your donation to us designating them as the intended recipient, and to send you promotional materials and and event invitations.

Transfer of Your Personal Information

We may also share your personal information with the following persons [who may be located overseas] for the above purposes:

  • third party service providers who provide administrative, communications, computer, payment, security or other services which assist us to carry out the above purposes;
  • banks and other payment service providers; and
  • our charity partners.

3. Personal Information collected before April 1, 2013

There is an amendment to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance in Hong Kong, which took effect on April 1, 2013. Under the new regulations, we are required to procure the consent of any data subjects for direct marketing activities. The new requirement does not apply to your personal information provided to us before April 1, 2013, provided we have explicitly informed you of our intention to use this data in direct marketing, and have not received any objection from you.

For customers who have subscribed to our newsletter service as well as those who have provided contact details for the purposes of buying or redeeming our Gift Cards before April 1, 2013, we retain and use your personal information to keep you informed of updates relating to the work of Charitable Choice and our beneficiary partners.

We will continue to deliver this information to you as usual, using your contact details such as your name and email address.

We will continue to send news and promotions to you, but if you no longer want this service, please email us at [email protected] or write to us at Suite 602, 6/F, Keen Hung Commercial Building, 80 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong.

4. Children's Privacy

Given our website and platform are intended for children under the age 12, we consider the children’s privacy interests of utmost importance and we encourage parents and guardians to take an active role in their children's online activities and interests. We also take all reasonable care to secure personal information. We do not knowingly collect, store, use or process personal information from children without proper parental consent.

5. Credit Card Information

When purchasing a gift card by credit card, your credit card information is held by Stripe payment gateway service, a secure payment processing facility, solely for the purpose of processing the payment. This information is not held by Charitable Choice at any time.

Customers' payment details are securely transmitted for real-time transaction authorisation using Secure Socket Layer (SSL) technology.

6. Links to other websites

We do not collect or use your personal information unless you choose to provide it and consent to such use of your personal information by us. You may choose, at any time, to unsubscribe from our newsletter service at any time by emailing us at [email protected] or write to us at Suite 602, 6/F, Keen Hung Commercial Building, 80 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong.

7. Links to other websites

The Charitable Choice website provides hyperlinks to our numerous charity partners so that you may find out more about the services offered by the charity of your choice. Our privacy policy cannot apply to those websites, and we are not responsible for any personal information they may collect.

8. Revisions to This Privacy Policy

Charitable Choice reserves the right to change, modify, add or remove portions of this Privacy Policy at any time, without prior notice to you. However, we will treat your continued use of the Charitable Choice website following such revision as your acceptance of the revised terms. We encourage you to review this Privacy Policy periodically. All revisions will be posted to the Charitable Choice website and will apply to any personal information collected on or after the date posted. We will notify you and obtain the necessary consents required under applicable privacy laws if we will collect, use or disclose your personal information for purposes other than those to which consent has been obtained unless otherwise required or permitted by law.

9. Revisions to This Privacy Policy

Your personal information will not be retained longer than necessary for fulfilling the purposes it has been collected and to comply with applicable laws. We will take reasonable steps to destroy or permanently de-identify personal information we hold if it is no longer needed for business or legal purposes.

We take all practicable steps to ensure the personal information that we hold is accurate, complete and up to date, and your personal information is protected against unauthorized or accidental access, processing, erasure, loss or use.

Under the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance, you have the right to request access to, and to request correction of, your personal information held by us. If you wish to exercise these rights, or have any other questions or comments about this Privacy Policy, please email us at [email protected] or write to us at Suite 602, 6/F, Keen Hung Commercial Building, 80 Queen's Road East, Wanchai, Hong Kong.

私隱權政策

擇善坊致力於確保所有的捐助者,禮物卡收件人和籌款活動發起人所提供的個人資料受到尊重並嚴格保密。

1. 許可

通過檢查相關選取的方格,並在我們視窗彈出的歡迎頁面單擊「確認」,您同意:

  • 我們可能會收集您的個人資料,並且您同意根據本私隱政策以及法律允許下,使用、披露和轉移您的個人資料; 和
  • 如果您是18歲以下的兒童,您已獲家長同意您使用擇善坊網站及根據本私隱政策以及法律允許下,使用、披露和轉移您的個人資料。

在遵守法律和合同要求的前提下,您可以隨時通過以下的地址與我們聯絡,以拒絕或撤回對某些已確認用途的許可。 如果您拒絕或撤回許可,則表示您確認您可能無法使用擇善坊網站的所有功能,並且我們可能無法為您提供某些可能對您有價值的服務或資訊。

2. 個人資料

收集您的個人資料

當閣下進入我們的網站時,我們可能會收集到閣下的個人資料例如姓名、密碼、年齡、出生日期、性別、電郵地址、通訊地址、電話號碼和信用卡和借記卡及其卡號(帶有有效期)。

個人資料的使用

我們可能會使用收集到的資料作下列一項或全部用途::

  • 處理閣下的捐款
  • 聯絡您以確定閣下的禮物卡購買和/或贖回和任何有關處理交易事宜
  • 公開閣下張貼於我們網站的資料,以操作閣下在我們網站建立的個人籌款專頁
  • 為您向擇善方網站捐款的個人籌款運營網頁人員制定交易報告;
  • 在您的許可下,就我們的慈善服務和組織的新發展與您溝通、向您發送宣傳品和通訊,並邀請您參加我們和我們的慈善合作夥伴組織的活動;和
  • 提供閣下的資料予我們的慈善伙伴以便他們聯絡閣下有關您透過我們所作的捐款、以發送推廣資料和活動邀請。

您的個人資料轉移

我們亦可能會分享您的資料予以下人士[可能身處海外的人]作上述用途:

  • 提供行政、聯絡、電腦技術支援、付款處理、保安或其他服務以協助我們執行上述事宜的第三者服務商
  • 銀行和其他繳費服務供應商;和
  • 我們的慈善伙伴

3. 於2013年4月1日前收集的個人資料

香港的個人資料(私隱)條例有一項修正案於2013年4月1日生效。根據新規定,本公司作直接促銷活動時須徵求當事人同意。新規定將並不適用於在2013年4月1日之前提供的個人資料, 只要我們當時已明確通知閣下我們將會利用這些數據作直接促銷用途,而沒有收到閣下的任何反對。

於2013年4月1日前訂閱我們的通訊,以及已提供聯絡方法以購買或贖回我們的禮物卡的客戶,我們會保留和使用您的個人資料來讓閣下了解更多有關擇善坊和我們的受惠伙伴的工作。

我們將使用閣下的聯絡資料如姓名和電郵地址,一如以往繼續提供這些信息予閣下。

我們將繼續發送最新消息和推廣資訊給您,但如果您不再需要這項服務,請電郵至[email protected]或寫信予香港灣仔皇后大道東80號, 堅雄大廈6樓602室與我們聯絡。

4. 兒童的私隱

鑑於我們的網站和平台是給予12歲以下的兒童使用,我們認為兒童的私隱利益尤其重要,我們鼓勵父母和監護人應積極關注孩子在網上的活動和興趣。 我們也將採取一切謹慎措施來保障個人資料。未經父母同意,我們不會有意收集、儲存、使用或處理兒童的個人資料。

5. 信用卡資料

當閣下使用信用卡購買禮物卡時,交易過程當中的信用卡資料由Stripe採用電子付款閘門服務,其網上付款保安系統全權處理,該等資料只作處理付款用途。擇善坊網站不會在付款過程中取得客戶的信用卡資料。

擇善坊網站將透過安全資料輸送層(SSL)技術傳送客戶付款資料以進行實時交易授權處理。

6. 選擇和退出偏好

除非您選擇提供並同意我們使用您的個人資料,否則我們不會收集或使用您的個人資料。 您可以隨時選擇通過發送電子郵件至[email protected]或寫信予香港灣仔皇后大道東80號, 堅雄大廈6樓602室與我們聯絡,取消訂閱我們的通訊服務。

7. 連接到其他網站

擇善坊網站提供超連結到我們眾多的慈善機構合作伙伴,令閣下更深入了解所選擇的慈善機構所提供的服務。我們的私隱政策不適用於這些網站,亦不會對這些機構於擇善坊以外的網站內收集個人資料的行為負責。

8. 本私隱政策的修訂

擇善坊保留隨時更改、修改、添加或刪除本私隱政策的權利,恕不另行通知。 但是,在您接受此類修訂條款後,我們將設定您繼續使用擇善坊網站。 我們建議您定期閱讀本私隱政策。 所有修訂都會發佈到擇善坊網站上,並將適用於在發布日或之後收集的任何個人資料。 除非法律另有要求或許可,否則我們將通知您並獲得適用的私隱法例所要求的許可,我們將出於獲得許可目的之外的收集、使用或披露您的個人資料。

9. 保留、到訪和更正以及問題或評論

您的個人資料保留時間不會超過達到其收集目的和遵守適用法律所必需的時間。如果我們持有的個人資訊不再用於商業或法律目的,,我們將採取合理的步驟銷毀或永久取消我們所擁有的個人資料。

我們將採取所有切實可行的步驟,以確保我們持有的個人資料準確、完整和最新,並保護您的個人資料免遭未經授權或意外的存取、處理、刪除、丟失或使用。

根據《個人資料(私隱)條例》,您有權要求到訪和更正我們所持有的有關您的個人資料。 如果您想行使這個權利,或對本私隱政策有任何其他疑問或意見,請發送電子郵件至[email protected]或寫信予香港灣仔皇后大道東80號, 堅雄大廈6樓602室。