Mother's Choice

About

In 1986, a series of newspaper articles pointing to the alarming numbers of teen pregnancies in Hong Kong deeply moved Gary & Helen Stephens and Ranjan & Phyllis Marwah to found Mother’s Choice. Despite having young families and limited resources, they quickly rolled up their sleeves. With their heart for service, love for the city of Hong Kong, and support from many in the community, they opened the doors to Mother’s Choice in 1987. Their passion to provide loving, non-judgmental support to the many pregnant teenagers who had no one else to turn to quickly expanded to providing nurturing care to children without families, and to be a voice for them to be in a family.
Today, Mother’s Choice continues to serve the many children without families and pregnant teenagers in Hong Kong through our services for children, youth and families. These include a Child Care Home (safe and nurturing temporary care), Foster Care Services, Adoption Services and Pregnant Girls Services. Mother’s Choice run a Community Education Department, who partner with the community to be champions for children and deliver Comprehensive Sexuality Education to schools across Hong Kong. 
Mother’s Choice believes that despite the challenges that vulnerable girls and babies come to us with – there is hope for their future. It is in “family” – a safe, loving and permanent family, where their life stories can be changed. Mother’s Choice believes it takes a village to raise a child, and that everyone has a role to play in serving the most vulnerable in Hong Kong.   
 j9a8114
 j9a7811
 j9a7714
 j9a8024
 j9a7969
 j9a7904

Events

Foster Care Programs 2010, Training Programs for parents

Focus Areas


Crisis support for children, youth and families

Beneficiaries


Children without families and pregnant teenagers

Strengths


Mother's Choice cares for children without families and girls facing crisis pregnancies.  

What They Do


Mother’s Choice is a local charity serving the many children without families and pregnant teenagers in Hong Kong. We join hands with our community to give hope and change the life stories of vulnerable girls and babies. Our vision is to see every child in a loving family.

Facts


Since 1987, Mother's Choice has since helped over 51,000 single girls, cared for 3,600 babies and assisted with 1,400 successful adoption cases

母親的抉擇

重點範圍

支援面對困境的孩子、青少年和家庭

受惠者

沒有家庭的孩子和懷孕青少年

優勢

「母親的抉擇」照顧沒有家庭的孩子和意外懷孕少女 

他們的業務

「母親的抉擇」是一間本地慈善團體,服務香港眾多沒有家庭的孩子和意外懷孕少女。我們與社會攜手合作,為弱勢的少女和孩子燃點希望、改寫生命。我們的遠景是每個孩子都擁有關愛的家。  

確實資料

自1987年,「母親的抉擇」幫助過逾51,000名少女、撫養過3,600個孩子,並成功協助1,400個領養個案

關於

1986年,一連串的新聞報道令史堤芬夫婦和馬華夫婦 (Gary & Helen Stephens,Ranjan & Phyllis Marwah) 驚覺香港原來有為數不少的少女面對意外懷孕,驅使他們成立「母親的抉擇」。雖然幾位創辦人剛剛建立自己的家庭,又缺乏資源,但他們依然堅持進行這個計劃。於是在1987年,憑著一股服務他人的熱誠和對香港的愛,以及社區不同人士的支持,他們創辦了「母親的抉擇」。最初,他們只是向無所依靠的意外懷孕少女及她們的嬰兒提供關愛和不帶批判的支持。但不久以後,他們也為其他沒有家庭的孩子爭取早日擁有永久家庭。

直到現在,「母親的抉擇」仍然透過其服務幫助香港眾多沒有家庭的孩子和意外懷孕少女。我們的服務對象包括孩子、青少年和家庭,而提供的服務包括幼兒之家(安全和暫時的照顧)、寄養服務、領養服務和意外懷孕支援服務。「母親的抉擇」亦設立社區教育部,和社區攜手為孩子發聲,並為香港的學校提供全面的性通識教育。

雖然尋求「母親的抉擇」幫助的弱勢少女和孩子面對各種挑戰,但我們對他們的未來充滿希望。只有安全、關愛而永久的家庭才可以改寫他們的生命。「母親的抉擇」深信培育一個孩子需要整個社會的支持,而每個人都可以為香港最弱勢的一群出一分力。 

website
http://www.motherschoice.org

活動

  • 寄養服務
  • 家長訓練服務
 j9a8114
 j9a7811
 j9a7714
 j9a8024
 j9a7969
 j9a7904

現在開始

設立籌款活動,直接捐贈給予多間慈善機構,或饋贈慈善禮物卡予他人。

設立籌款活動

捐贈給多間慈善機構

送慈善禮物卡給至親