Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden – The Raptor Sanctuary

Focus Areas

Wildlife rescue and public education

Beneficiaries

Raptors that are unable to survive in the wild, the planet and visitors

Strengths

The rescued raptors will receive professional care from KFBG staff, including veterinary treatments for their injuries. They will also be considered for release and receive an exercise programme to get them back to full fitness. Only those that do not pass the fitness and pre-release training and assessment will be considered for lifetime care.

What They Do

The Jim Ades Raptor Sanctuary of Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden keeps raptors that are permanently disabled and cannot be released as they have lost their survival skills. We will feed, house, and provide medical care for those resident Raptors.  We also organise Keeper Talks, where visitors can have a better understand on these majestic birds and find out how we can live in harmony with animals and our natural world.

Facts

Between 1994 and 2020, over 52,000 animals were received. About half were successfully nursed back to health and returned to the wild. Some were found a permanent home in an appropriate local or overseas conservation facility.

About

Kadoorie Farm and Botanic Garden was established in 1956 to raise awareness of ecological and sustainability issues, undertake species conservation and ecosystem restoration in Hong Kong and South China, reconnect people with nature, and promote sustainable lifestyles.

The Fauna Conservation Department was established in 1994 to support the KFBG Mission and establish programmes for wildlife rescue, endangered species conservation, protected area management and public education.

Funds raised via Charitable Choice will be donated to The Jim Ades Raptor Sanctuary. Managed by Fauna Conservation Department, the Sanctuary keeps those raptors that are permanently disabled and cannot be released as they have lost their survival skills. The rescued raptors may have been involved in accidents or been part of the illegal pet trade. They stay with us as educational ambassadors to help us educate visitors about our wildlife rescue programmes.
website
https://www.kfbg.org/en/

Events

Animal Encounters

Objectives: We hope to bring nature closer to visitors, increase general awareness related to wildlife conservation and illegal wildlife trade, and inspire respect and appreciation of animals. We are hoping that through our event, visitors are empowered to make informed conservation choices and live a greener lifestyle.

Content: Experienced animal keepers will introduce our animal ambassadors and convey their stories.

Date: On the first, second and third Sunday of every month (the activity may be suspended due to Covid-19 social distancing guidelines The latest schedule will be announced on KFBG website.)

Time: 10:30 – 15:45

Target Group: Everyone is welcome.

Language: Cantonese (Volunteers may provide English interpretation if necessary)

Application/Enquiry: A Registration Counter will be set up near the Reception Office. Please register on arrival. For more information, please check with our staff at the Reception Office regarding the programme schedule upon your arrival at KFBG or check our website/Facebook for updates.

Remarks: These education activities may be cancelled due to severe weather. Please confirm the programme schedule with our staff at Reception before your visit.

Simple. Impactful.

We facilitate your charitable giving. Make direct donations, set up fundraising campaigns, send charity gift cards, redeem gift cards - all in support of Hong Kong charities.

Donate to multiple charities

Start a fundraising campaign

Send a charity gift card

嘉道理農場暨植物園 - 猛禽護理中心

重點範圍

野生動物拯救及公眾教育

受惠者

不能重回自然的猛禽及貓頭鷹、大自然及訪客

優勢

被拯救的雀鳥在本園會獲得專業的獸醫治療,成功康復的猛禽經過復康訓練後會被放回野外。部份未通過健康及試放訓練評估而未能野放的猛禽,若情況許可,才會考慮留在本園。

他們的業務

猛禽護理中心收養了因永久傷殘或其他原因喪失野外生存能力不能重回自然的猛禽,為牠們提供賴以維生的食物、避難所及醫療護理,並定期舉辦教育活動,讓訪客認識牠們的故事,從中反思人類如何與動物和大自然和諧共處。

確實資料

1994年至2020年間,本園拯救中心接受超過52,000隻動物。當中接近一半的動物接受治療後成功康復,並獲放歸大自然,部分則成功安置於本地或海外的一些保育機構,覓得永久家園。

關於

嘉道理農場暨植物園於1956年成立,致力提升大眾對生態及永續生活的關注,於香港及華南地區進行物種保育和生態系統復修的工作,將人與大自然重新聯繫,並提倡永續的生活方式。

本園動物保育部於1994年成立以實踐本園使命,致力拯救野生動物、保護瀕危物種、管理保護區及推行環境教育工作。

艾先生猛禽護理中心由動物保育部管理,收養了部分因永久傷殘或其他原因喪失野外生存能力而被評估不能重回自然的猛禽及貓頭鷹。牠們曾經因意外受傷或是非法寵物貿易的受害者,現在則成為動物教育大使,幫助我們推廣本園的野生動物拯救計劃。
website
https://www.kfbg.org/en/

活動

動物全接觸

目標:希望藉此將遊人和大自然聯繫起來,增加公眾對自然保育和非法野生動物貿易的的認知及對動物的尊敬和欣賞。我們也期望遊人在活動過後,能在生活上作出明智的保育選擇,過一個更綠色的生活。

內容:每一個動物全接觸的活動環節也會由義工帶領,沿途講解有關動物背景和傳遞保育信息。參加者會於護理員工作的地方跟他們和動物見面。動物全接觸的動物包括蟒蛇、騾仔、猛禽和本土哺乳動物。

日期:每月的首三個星期日(因應新型肺炎下的社交距離措施,活動暫時取消。請定期關注本園網頁公佈)

時間:10:30 – 15:45

對象:歡迎任何人士參加

語言:廣東話 (有需要時可提供英語傳譯)

申請/查詢:活動當日將有登記處設於接待處附近,供遊客即場報名。如欲查詢更多資訊,蒞臨本園時請向接待處職員詢問有關各活動的時間表,或登入本園網頁Facebook專頁獲取最新消息。

備註:教育活動的日期及時間可能因天氣改變而有所更改,請於參觀本園前聯絡本園接待處職員查詢活動詳情。

簡單。有影響力。

我們協助你的捐款慈善。 直接捐款,建立募捐活動,饋贈或贖回慈善禮物卡 - 全部收益支持香港本地慈善團體

捐贈給多間慈善機構

設立籌款活動

送慈善禮物卡給至親