about us

  • WHO

    We are a charity that helps turn small donations into big impact. #FindYourCause from our list of charity beneficiaries that help Hong Kong.

  • WHAT

    A charity giving platform that makes donating to charity simple, fun and interactive.

  • HOW

    Set up a fundraising campaign, donate to many charities in one transaction, or gift someone else a donation and let them choose the charities to support.

  • WHY

    Because we care! Hong Kong is our home and we’re in it 100%.

  • WHEN

    Charitable Choice was registered as a charity in Hong Kong in 2010 (IRD 91/11221). All donations are tax deductible.

MISSION POSSIBLE!

Our mission is to provide unique, interactive and fun ways to encourage charitable giving and to demonstrate that small donations make a big impact on pressing social needs in Hong Kong. In order to achieve sustainability, donations facilitated via Charitable Choice incur a small administration fee, agreed and approved by all our charity beneficiaries. This is what makes the Charitable Choice website possible!

CHARITY BENEFICIARIES

Charitable Choice vets all the charity beneficiaries on our platform, making it easy for you to #FindYourCause. Our vetting process includes the following steps to ensure the charities that benefit from your donations via our platform are providing bona fide services and benefit the community. We welcome nominations of new charity beneficiaries and a review of charity partners is conducted annually.

CHARITY VETTING PROCESS

PRIOR TO SIGN UP

  • Check legal status – ensure that the beneficiary partner is a registered charity under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance by obtaining a copy of the charity registration certificate;
  • Check financials - ensure that charity provides a copy of its most recent audited financial statements;
  • Check activity - review website, annual reports and/or newsletters for understanding of the charity’s structure, history and programmes;
  • Check management - meet with the management team and other relevant staff to ensure there's a group of passionate people behind the scenes.

ON AN ONGOING BASIS

  • Check for dormancy - obtain updates on programmes at least once a year to ensure charity hasn't become dormant. This may be in the form of visits to the charity’s office, email correspondence, receipt of newsletters and/or a review of their annual report;
  • Check for changes - contact charity at least once every calendar year to ensure we have the current staff contacts. If there have been significant changes, we request a meeting to get to know the new team;
  • Check for receipts - we collate and transfer funds to beneficiaries every calendar quarter. We consolidate payment, provide reports about individual donations to each charity and liaise with them thereafter to obtain receipts;
  • Check for impact - each year the charity beneficiaries provide information about the impact of their services within the local community, and we have been invited to join some of these programmes when feasible. To date donations via Charitable Choice have helped Hong Kong in many ways, including providing 60,000 meals for the needy, tutorial classes and after-school activities for over 8,000 underprivileged children and vaccinations for over 1,000 abandoned cats and dogs;
  • Check for compliance – via the agreement signed at the outset, all charity beneficiaries are legally obliged to notify Charitable Choice within 30 days if it ceases to have Section 88 Status or changes its name or scope of services;
  • Charitable Choice reserves the right to remove beneficiaries who do not comply with the above checks and we have done so on several occasions since our inception in 2010.

*Please note exceptions apply to those charities nominated by corporate users and featured on their customised fundraising pages. Customised corporate pages may feature charities that are not current beneficiaries of Charitable Choice and therefore may not have been vetted by Charitable Choice.

WHAT IS SECTION 88?

  • All charity beneficiaries on the Charitable Choice platform, and in fact, Charitable Choice ourselves, are registered charitable organisations with Section 88 status. To find out more about what this means, and how Section 88 charities are different from not-for-profit organisations and/or Voluntary Organisations, please visit the Inland Revenue’s website here.

Did you know?

970,000

Hong Kong people live in poverty
Out of a population of 7 million Hong Kong residents, approximately 14.3% of the population live in poverty.
Source: Commission on Poverty

3,600 tonnes

Food wasted daily
Yet 300,000 Hong Kong children do not get 3 meals a day.
Source: Food Angel

關於我們

  • 我們是誰

    我們是一間本地慈善團體,主力匯集微小捐款為巨額善款。#幫助香港 請從我們慈善伙伴名單中選中受惠機構。

  • 我們的工作

    方便、有趣、互動、靈活地回饋社會。

  • 如何運作

    設立籌款活動,直接捐款,或為別人捐款並交由他們選擇支持哪個慈善機構。

  • 成立原因

    因為我們關心香港,香港是我家。

  • 何時成立

    擇善坊於2010年在香港注冊成為非弁利慈善團體,所有捐款都可作扣稅申請。

我們的宗旨

我們致力提供獨特、互動及有趣的途徑來鼓勵大家捐款,展示如何匯集微小捐款為巨大力量以滿足本地龐大的社會需求。為了給我們的慈善伙伴帶來持續而長遠的影響和支持,透過擇善坊所作的捐款附帶行政費用,所有合作的慈善機構均已同意及接受該項收費是用作維持擇善坊的網頁運作。

我們的慈善合作伙伴

擇善坊審核所有慈善合作伙伴的資料,為願意慷慨解囊的善長人翁帶來方便。為了經我們平台的捐款應用得宜,能捐助給慈善服務和回饋社會,我們的審核過程包括以下步驟。

慈善合作伙伴審核過程

註冊前

  • 查核法定條例 — 確保慈善合作伙伴為經税務局的稅務條例第88條豁免繳稅的有效註冊慈善團體,並獲證明資格;
  • 查核財務狀況 — 確保慈善團體能提供近期的財務報告證明;
  • 查對活動狀況 — 檢閱網站、年終報告和/或通訊刊物,以了解慈善機構的結構,歷史和計劃;
  • 了解慈善機構的經營 — 與管理層和相關職員會面,以確保慈善機構上下熱衷於慈善事業。

過程

  • 查核慈善機構的活動狀態 — 最少每年更新一次慈善機構的計劃,以確保機構並不處於停止的狀況。我們可能會探訪機構,以電郵聯繫,接收通訊刊物和/或檢閱其年終報告;
  • 了解慈善機構的調動 — 最少每個年度聯絡慈善機構一次,以確保我們有現任的相關職員的聯繫方式。如果有任何改變,我們會要求會面並認識新的管理層;
  • 核對收據 — 我們每個季度都會核對和轉交善款給受益的慈善機構。我們會合併善款,向每個慈善團體提供捐款報告,並與他們保持聯繫;
  • 了解帶來的效益 —受益的慈善機構需於每年提供有關他們在本地社區服務的資料。如有需要,我們更會參與部分的活動。透過擇善坊籌募得來的善款,已經在不同方面來改善香港 提供了60,000 的膳食來舒緩飢餓問題, 向超過8,000個貧困家庭兒童提供免費補習班及課外活動和為超過1,000被遺棄的貓和狗注射疫苗;
  • 查核慈善機構對合約的遵守 — 如果已終止第88條豁免繳稅條例或更改名稱或改變服務對象,所有已與擇善坊簽訂合約的慈善機構需在30天內通知我們;
  • 如果該慈善機構違反以上規定,擇善坊會保留權利免去其受惠者身分。自我們2010年建立以來,亦曾經面對數次這情況,並免去其受惠機構身分。

*請注意,由公司用戶提名並在籌款頁面上顯示的慈善機構屬於例外情況。部分的公司頁面可能展示非擇善坊現有的受益慈善機構,因此並不受我們審查之內。

稅務條例》第 88 條是甚麼?

  • 所有我們的慈善受益團體以及本機構為經註冊的慈善團體,是根據《稅務條例》第 88 條獲豁免繳稅的公共性質的慈善機構。如果想更了解此稅務條例,以及此條例與其他非牟利組織或義工團隊,請瀏覽以下稅務局的網站 這裡.

您知道嗎?

970,000

香港人生活在貧窮線下
在全港700萬人中,貧窮人士佔總人口大約百分之十四點三。
來源: 扶貧委員會

3,600公噸

廚餘正被丟棄至堆填區
然而,每日大約有300,000小孩未能得到最基本的一日三餐。
來源: 惜食堂